After I left the airport, I found and recognized my Honey so easily! I had been scared I would not. It had been so long....SO LONG! And people change, I sometimes miss my friends because they have changed something! Just recently I had a friend that cut his hair....I see him almost everyday! I talk to him almost every day!! And when I saw him I first recognized him, then I hesitated, I looked at him and I did not recognize him anymore, but I saw on his face that he recognized me so I had to act like nothing and just pretend that I wasn't totally amazed that I knew who he was, logically I knew, but my brain did not recognize him! If that can happen under a short period of time, what can not happen under 9 month?? I was so nervous, I was so scared! Not because I would be in a country that he claims is not safe, not because I would be the only white. Not even because I wouldn't recognize him right away, because I knew that if I don't he will. I AM the only white! So we will find each other. I was afraid I would not recognize him because I would feel so ashamed after and what would he think of the fact that his girlfriend couldn't recognize him? Oh my god! I don't even want to think about that!
But I talked to him on phone, and I happened to look to the left, and I saw him! I SAW HIM! Not even the whole him, but a part of his face! And the happiness in me when I realized I do recognize him! I don't have to worry! Amazing!
He took me to a taxi, we drove to the hotel, and after that I saw no white! I first didn't even realize that. It was when we went to a fast food place and he saw a girl that was white....he saw, not me, I then looked and realized that is true! She is light! I didn't say anything, cause I didn't think she was white, or I didn't have time to say anything before he turned to me and said no, she is not white, she is what we would call albino. I didn't ask what they call her.
They had a name for me, oyinbo, or how it is spelled. The name of the blog I found on wikipedia, but I have a small memory there should be an N somewhere....please feel free to correct me!
I heard that everywhere, even one of Honeys friends called me that when I talked to her on the phone. I learned to like that name. Even though it can be pronounced in a racistic way also, but I heard that only once. The women who passed me looked at me said something quick and ended with oyinbo, it sounded like she had something really ugly in her mouth that she really had to spit out so fast! I asked Honey what she said, but she didn't hear her. Or at least that is what he said... i don't think he would have translated it even if he would have heard her. But that is the only way I noticed any negative about being a oyinbo!
People wanted to greet me, they wanted to take pictures of me, they stared at me....well, I didn't notice the last one, but Honey told me every once in a while that he wish that they would just stop staring! I replied to him that I do not even notice, and he told me that is because I liked it! Lol! Well, the truth is probably closer to, I had other things to concentrate on, all new impressions, everything was new and exiting! Sometimes I just had to hold his hand so that I would not end up in a hole, because I was looking in a different direction!
They wanted to greet me, once Honey told me, "he is greeting you, say Dadani". So I did! And the person that was greeting me was surprised I answer in yuroba. But that is the thing! He asked me Bawonio? (I take no responsibility of my spelling!) They kept trying to speak yuroba to me! Sometimes I smiled, sometimes I answered are you sure?, sometimes I started to speak sweedish! Speaking sweedish immediately made them turn to english! Once when Honey talked to me in yuroba, just to amuse a personal at the hotel, I answered Kilonshile? ...Meaning "what is wrong with you"? Or "what happened".
About the only yuroba I actually know! But I think it is the best word/sentence I could possibly know....