Tuesday, 3 November 2009

House pet exhibition

Me and my live-in boyfriend got an invitation (so to say) to a pet exebition i Vanda. Vanda is lokated in Helsinki, or maybe it's a suburb to Helsinki? Either way we thougth about it and thought that it could be fun! The main reason we went to Vanda was that my boyfriends sister and her husband was attending the exibition and they asked if we wanted to meet up with them in Helsinki.

In this blog I will only concenrate on the exebition, not the trip to Vanda or were we stayed and stuff like that. That I will write in a different blog, otherwise this blog will be VERY long!

So I begin here! We came to Vanda, following a very questionable GPS. In one point it told us to keep left, and then turn right! Thank God my boyfriends sister (lets call her J, just to make it easier!) hold the GPS and notised the mistake or we would have missed our turnoff.

Anyway, we made it to the place were the exebition was held. And after walking all the way (or at least half way) round, we found the entrance. Because J and her husband (lets just call him F) was attending the exebition they had free pass through ticket cashier. Thanks to them we got a reduction of the price. We payed 7€ instead of 10€.


This is what met ut directly when we got inside. It was much bigger than I had imagine (okay, I hadn't really thought about it that much, but still....). All over you could by stuff for your pet, give charity or get information about what they were selling or what they supported.


A lot of people were there with their pet. It's nice to have a place to go were pets a allowed! :)

This is were J and F had their table, or, it was I think just J who actually was working, F was just tagging along, keeping her compamy. J is not in the picture! She would kill me if I'd put pictures of her on the internet whitout telling her :)

If you want to know what she is supporting go to hemlösa hundars vänners hompage and check them out! This page is only in sweedish and finnish, but the button "donate" is in english :) They do cooperate with Save the dogs, their homepage is in english. Feel free to check them out!

There was a lot at the exebition. I really liked these neckties (at lest I think it's a necktie....i didn't by them) with the cutest little kittens on them :)

There were also a lot of real live animal! :) I have not the name of the race of this cat. But I think this could have been from the same booth as the picture above, and if it is, this is a siberian cat.

This one I thought I'd remeber, becouse he/she had blue eyes. But I don't remeber the race! Itried to take a picture of his/her eyes, but he/she was so sleepy and wasn't in the mood to pose.


This is by far the best picture of them all :) I love dressing up and could have changed with this lady anytime!! The cat had no plans to get anywere, he/she was happy to be at the table for everyone to have a look at him.

There wer also competitions. This is a obstacle course for rabbits. I didn't stay to watch the whole thing. But I watched two or three rabbits making their way true the course.

This little fellow wasn't sure if he (it can also be a she, I don't know) wanted to jump or not. The trainer/owner needed to help him understand it was time to jump by tapping him in the sides wvery ones in a while. One obstacle he had to be lifted over, because he did not want to jump that one :) The next was no problem, and so on. I didn't know the rules of it, so I didn't get that interested. Probably more fun for those that actually have a rabbit in the competition.

Speeking of rabbits. There was quite a few of them at the exebition. Cages and cages and more cages of them! These rabbits were no ordinary house rabbits (if thats even a word :)), no these were race rabbits. You could buy some of them for 60€ a pice. Not the price my rabbit had (I had a rabbit when I was a child), mine costed us a rooster :) (or was it a hen?)

There was some funny looking rabbits! This one I really liked! And the race name is right there for you to look at :) I liked the fact that this rabbit had a line on it's back, and spots and black eyes, ears and nose!

This one had a nice pattern to! I don't know the race, because it's not in any of my pictures...

This one (if I remeber correctly) was quite small. I liked the fact that he was so dark in colour, and light on the belly.

Here we have an albino rabbit. I don't know if that's it's race name, but he was albino still. The red eyes arn't red at the picture though. Funny, "normal" eyes get red on pictures, but red eyes doesen't get red on pictures :)

This one in particular is really cute!! He looks like a furball :) And yet again, I don't hade the race name...

On my way back to hemlösa hundars vänner's booth I saw this. A fashionshow for dogs. I can't say I approve of people dressing their animal up for fun. Is it could and the animal needs clothes to stay warm, that's a different story. A chihuahua for example! I once new a chihuahua who was so cold during winter he was shivering, I couldn't stand looking at him like that so I dressed him up in a beckham-shirt. I don't know if he (the chihuahua) liked it. Bur every now and then he came to me and looked at me with sad eyes, and when I then dressed him up, he stood really still! It was difficult to get the shirt on, so if he really would have hated it, he would have made resistence, and I wouldn't have made him ware it!

But this is maby a little bit unnecessary, a bathrobe for a dog? When is he/she going to use it? After wisiting the sauna? A towel would be just fine I think...

And this is a bit too much. I don't know if I wanted my dog to walk around with feathers (or what ever that is)

I moved on to agility. This is a sport I could like! The dog seems to enjoy it and it have to bee fun for the owner as well! (Why else would anyone do it?) They were wery good at understanding what their owners wanted them to do.

Here for example the dog jumps over the opsacle and then have to turn an almost 180 degree turn to continue. They are at least wery observant.

This was a bit difficult (if I remember correctly), the dog had to run through a tunnel made of fabrics, so he hade to be brave to begin with to run through it. And directly after he came out of the tunnel he hade to jump this ring. He had to think fast :)


When I got back to the booth I talked to my boyfriend who asked if I had seen the snakes and parrots. The what? I asked, so he took me to the other side of hall were the exebition was held and showed me what I had missed. I thought the rabbits were the last thing in that direction :) So I didn't see the snakes. This was a quite large white snake, he has been wriggling his head to where he has his tail :)

These ones are pretty small. They were in small boxes, boxes that I'm used to coutaining sallad. Very clever to use that kind of boxes, but to me it looked like something you could by for food.

But as you got closer you didn't want to eat what was inside! This one is nice and coloury

This salamander (or what ever it is) was trying to climb the wall, I think. Or he had probably given up allready, because he was just standing there! The thing that looks like an egg yolk I don't remeber what is...

Here are the parrots I missed. There were two or three more, so not that many.

Then I had missed the guinea pigs. There where quite a few of them too, but I didn't give them that much time, I was feeling warm and had to go outside for a while to get some fresch air.

Outside it was a bit chillie, but still I took of my sweater, it was knitted so it made me to warm. And I knew we were going inside again in a moment.

At the exhibition you could also see dogs. These I don't remember the race of. As usual :)

And these I don't know the race of! On the bigger of these two it says you can pet him. This is a straydog from Estonia. The little one is also a straydog fron Estonia. The boot next to hemlösa hundars vänner rescues dogs from Estonia. Hemösa hundars vänner is rescuing dogs from Romania, by the way. So if you feel that you have to have a dog, why not a doog rescued from the streets of Romania?

Saturday, 18 July 2009

The cruise continues to Visby

The cruis whit Birka Paradise left Riga behind and set of to Visby. The photo of the ship is taken in Visby, but it's still the same boat :)

On board we got to watch a show with "Milda Makter" again, this time an other show, Abba-show. I like this show! They had the same show last year, when Birka cruised to Tallin and Visby. It was the same show, and I liked it still :) Knowing quite a few Abba songs makes this show fantastic!


Soon we had a glimpse at Visby. Visby is on a island named Gotland, by the way. Gotland is a part of Sweden. Visby is a fantastic town, especially the old town! I like it! This was my third time in Visby, so I didn't take so many pictures, nog without anybody in them anyway.




A white tower caught our attention, I hadn't been to that tower before, so we decided to check that out.
It turned out to be a chirch. We couldn't take a look at it from the inside, because they had a service going on at the moment. So we just took a quick peel and looked at it from the outside instead.


Visby is called the town of roses. There is a reason for that! There is roses where ever you go! They don't need much, just a hole in the sidewalk and a hous wall to lean at.



As I saied, I don't have so many pictures from Visby, maby I can upload some pictures from my trip there last year, but if I do that I do it in a different inlay.

Back at the ship on last show was waiting for us! Again with "Milda Makter" and their "En kväll i folkparken"-show. It can be translated to: An evening in the people's park.

The last show wasn't at good as the two other, prehaps because we weren't on time and didn't get good places.

It's definitely worth a cruis! It may seam a bit expensive, but it's all included. You can choose between a 3 course meal and a buffet. It's not everyday one can have starters, main course and desert :) That was almost the best part of the cruise!

Friday, 17 July 2009

Long Cruise to Riga and Visby

There is so many photos that I want to upload from this trip, so I have decided to split my blog in two!

As you can see, the ship we went on a cruise with is called Birka Paradise. I like cruising with Birka Paradise,it's not like the other ships on the Baltic sea. It's a cruise ship, whitout a cardeck. All other ships on the Baltic have cardecks.

We were in luck, we got ourselves a inside cabin, this is what it looked like! It was quite nice! The other wall was a mosaic of a palm from a southern paradise :) It was quite nice! I have picture of me against that wall, it looks like I've been to someplace warm :D


On board there was enterteinment all the time! Time didn't get long :) You only had to choose what you wanted to see, and if you didn't you could go take a drink or wander in the taxfree. I can wander in the taxfree over and over again :p But at Birka Paradise I don't have time to do that :) There is so much other stuff to do!


This is a show with "Milda Makter", they had a show with a mixture of sweedish songs, this show was called "svensk opp i topp".

A few drinks is never wrong :) I found my favorite at the cruise, strawberry crush, the red one at the picture. I can give the recipie on this blog, but I maby give it as a comment.


Our first destination on our cruise was Riga. It is a beautiful city, although we had to arrive at Riga a bit outside the city, so I have no good overwiev picture.


I believe that in allmost all baltic countries the houses are a bit similar. Like this picture, cosy.



Their money looked a lot like playmoney! I don't have a picture of the money bills without a person, so I can't upload one, but I took a picture of some of the coins.





I wish I knew all the things that I have a picture of, but I don't. So I have here a selection om what can be found in Riga :)


This picture has a quite funny story :) I was walking down the road and saw this unusual house, so i desided to take a picture of it. At my left there is a road crossing in a T-crossing and on that road I saw a policeman on a bike with bluelights on. I decided to take a quick photo so that I wouldn't interrupt him. I took my photo and as I turn left to continue down the road I see the same policeman waiting in the corner. As I sart walking he shows "It's okay, take the picture!" with his hand. I just had to make him understand that I allready took the picture :) So I smile and nod. This picture is for all finishspeaking blogers :) Dare to try this restaurant out?

I write about Visby an other time! Got to get ready for work!